Football art

HASTINGS — Two keys to Overton’s state football championship team of 2006, Glen Snodgrass and Eric Ryan, will be inducted into the Eight-Man Hall of Fame June 15 at the Sertoma Eight-Man All-Star Game in Hastings.

Part of the second induction class, Snodgrass and Ryan have enjoyed successful playing and coaching careers.

Ryan, a tight end and defensive end, led The Eagles to their first playoff victory in school history and a Class D1 state runner-up finish in 1994. During his prep career, he broke school records in tackles (428) and receiving yards (1,908).

In his junior and senior seasons, he was named first-team All-Conference, first-team all-state and Defensive Player of the Year.

Ryan was selected to play in the Nebraska Shrine Bowl and was named the Most Valuable Defensive Player of the 1995 Eight-Man All-Star Game. He went on to play for the Nebraska Cornhuskers where he was a part of two national championship and three conference championship teams. After college, Ryan returned to Overton to coach for the last 18 years. As an assistant coach in 2006, Ryan’s career came full circle as helped the Eagles to their first-ever Class D1 state football championship.

Snodgrass began his eight-man odyssey in 1990 as a four-year starter, a two-time all-conference selection, and a first-team all-state defensive end for the Wildcats. In his senior season, he anchored both sides of the line of scrimmage while leading North Loup Scotia to the 1993 Class D1 state title.

After being named the Huskerland Prep Report Defensive Player of the Year, he also was selected to play in the 1994 Eight-Man All-Star Game. Following high school, Snodgrass went on to become a dual sport All-American in football and basketball at Concordia University.

After graduating from college, he was named head football coach at Overton where, from 1999 to 2010, he developed the Eagles into a perennial eight-man power. His 99 wins and 35 losses included five district titles, two state runner-up finishes and the 2006 Class D1 state championship.

During that span, Snodgrass was selected to coach in the Shrine Bowl, the Eight-Man All-Star Game and was named the Huskerland Prep Report Eight-Man Coach of the Year.

Players joining Ryan and Snodgrass in this year’s induction class are: players Casey Beran (Sargent), Clint Eikmeier (Dodge), Cory Eikmeier (Dodge), John Howell (Mullen), Matt Ickes (Orchard), Paul Kosch (Humphrey St. Francis), Steve Kriewald (North Loup-Scotia), Billy Legate (Clearwater), Steve Simon (Falls City Sacred Heart) and Andy Zeisler (Butte); Family Legacy — Joel and Jeff Makovicka (East Bulter); Coaches —Doug Goltz (Falls City Sacred Heart), Gordon Pilmore (Dodge); and Contributor — Bob Jensen (Huskerland Prep Report).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.