LPS Admin building

LEXINGTON – Mike Dowling was sworn in Monday night as the newest member of the Lexington Board of Education.

Dowling was selected by the board to fill the position left vacant by Jeff Wightman, who was tapped by Nebraska Governor Dave Heineman to be Lexington’s County Judge in the 11th Judicial District.

Under normal circumstances, the public votes members of the school board into position. Because Dowling is fulfilling a vacancy, he is allowed to fulfill Wightman’s term without a public vote. When Wightman’s term is up, Dowling will have to run for office should he wish to continue serving on the Board of Education.

Lexington Board of Education President Kent Gydesen administered the oath.

Lexington Public School Superintendent John Hakonson shared the district’s report card with the school board.

The report card covers statistics within Lexington Public Schools, such as math and reading proficiency, and compares Lexington’s rates with the rest of the state as a whole.

In addition to proficiency, the report card also charts items such as student demographics, student ethnicity and per pupil expenditures.

The report card was not an action item for the board, but rather presented for their information. The report card can be found on the school board website at http://meeting.nasbonline.org/Public/Agency.aspx?PublicAgencyID=4324 by selecting the Monday, May 13 meeting date. The report card will also be printed in a future edition of the Clipper-Herald.

In other business:

– Board members approved the expenditure of $122,162 for the purchase of elementary “myWorld Social Studies” textbooks and materials from Pearson, passed with a motion by Ray Ehlers and a second by Cindy Benjamin.

– Also purchased were 400 laptop computers from Apple, Inc. for $396,000, passed with a motion by Larry Steinberger and a second by Cindy Benjamin.

– The board accepted the resignations of Miriam Andres, Frances Burkhalter, Adriana Carnes, Alejandro Garcia, Socorro Gomez, Cody Havranek, Sarah Havranek, Cynthia Jaeger, Hanna Mach, Melinda Pelster and Susan Reynolds.

New hires include Abbie Salsman, Early Learning Academy teacher; Meghan Long, head nurse; Leanne Bennett, high school special education teacher; Amy Hadley, eighth grade language arts teacher; Michaela Bradshaw, eighth grade science teacher; Blanca Vera Chavez, high school Spanish teacher; Jose Lara, sixth grade social studies teacher; Nicole Miller, seventh grade language arts teacher; Jade Olson, Morton fourth grade teacher; Julie Thompson, Pershing fifth grade teacher; Danielle Tuepker, Sandoz second grade teacher and Becky Berven, second and third grade Bryan Elementary teacher.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.